Day three round-up

Day three of the 2016 UCI Track Cycling World Championships began with the men’s sprint qualification, in which Great Britain’s Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner finished 2nd and 5th respectively. Both riders have made it through to the quarter-finals which take place tomorrow (Saturday 5 March).

After disappointment yesterday, Great Britain’s women’s pursuit team including Joanna Roswell Shand, Laura Trott, Elinor Barker and Ciara Horne achieved a new British record and an improvement of over four seconds on their qualifying time, securing them a place in the bronze medal final.

Pictures by - 04/03/2016 - Cycling - 2016 UCI Track Cycling World Championships, Day 3 - Lee Valley VeloPark, London, England - Women's Team Pursuit First Round - Great Britain - TROTT Laura, BARKER Elinor, HORNE Ciara, ROWSELL-SHAND Joanna

The first world title of the day was awarded to Anastasiia Voinova (Russia) in the women’s 500 m time trial with a time of 32.959, returning to re-claim her world title for another year. Hong Kong’s Wai Sze Lee took the silver medal (33.736) and Elis Ligtlee from the Netherlands claimed the bronze medal with 33.760.


The evening session saw three world titles awarded. Taking home the second world title of the day, were USA’s Sarah Hammer, Kelly Catlin, Chloe Dygert and Jennifer Valente in the women’s team pursuit in a time of 4:16.802. USA beat Canada’s Allison Beveridge, Jasmin Glasser, Kirsti Lay and Georgia Simmerling with a time of 4:19.525.  Great Britain’s Joanna Rowsell Shand, Laura Trott, Elinor Barker and Ciara Horne convincingly beat New Zealand in the bronze medal final (4:16.540) in front of an overwhelmed home crowd.


In the men’s individual pursuit final, Filippo Ganna claimed the gold medal for Italy. The 19-year-old new world champion came out on top of an epic dual with Germany’s Domenic Weinstein with an impressive time of 4:16.141. Winning the silver men’s individual pursuit title, Germany’s Weinstein provided a strong competition until the finish line (4:18.275). The bronze medal final was an all-British affair with teammates Andy Tennant and Owain Doull going head-to-head. It was Tennant who got the better of his opponent to take home the bronze medal  in a time of 4:18.301.


The evening concluded with a tense, tactical points race, with Great Britain’s Jonathan Dibben attacking the final two laps to achieve the world champion title! The stunned young track star received a standing ovation from the delighted home crowd as he celebrated his success. Andreas Graf (Austria) won the silver medal and Kenny De Ketele took home the bronze medal. C12V7241

Day three results

Women’s 500 m time trial

Women’s team pursuit

Men’s individual pursuit

Men’s points race

Medal standings

Fri medals