Great Britain Cycling Team announced for world championships

British Cycling has confirmed the team of 21 riders who will represent Great Britain at the forthcoming UCI Track Cycling World Championships taking place at Lee Valley VeloPark, London from 2-6 March.

Fresh from his victory on the road in the Tour of Qatar, Mark Cavendish will return to the boards to compete in the omnium event. He will also pair up with fellow track stalwart Sir Bradley Wiggins in the Madison – an event the pairing won at the last home worlds in Manchester 2008.

Laura Trott, Joanna Rowsell Shand, Ed Clancy, Steven Burke, Jason Kenny and Phil Hindes will return to the site of their 2012 Olympic successes, whilst Emily Nelson and Chris Latham make the elite world championship team for the first time.

Shane Sutton, technical director, said: “We’ve selected the strongest squad available to us for these worlds – we’re in good shape and the team we’ve selected is close to the Olympic model.

“It’s great to see Ed Clancy and Katie Archibald included on the squad and that’s testament to the hard work of the Performance Support Team who have ably led the rehabilitation of these riders following their respective injuries.

“Winning is always a key objective for any sports team and we’re sticking to our long-term goal which is success at the Olympic Games in Rio so we’ll be making performance decisions based on this strategy.

“That said, there’s been a marked increase in momentum within the squad recently and we’ve been seeing some promising numbers in training, so I’m expecting to see some strong performances across the board and spectators will be guaranteed to see some world-class competition.”

GBCTWomen’s sprint

Becky James
Katy Marchant
Jess Varnish

Men’s sprint

Matt Crampton
Phil Hindes
Jason Kenny
Callum Skinner

Women’s endurance

Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Ciara Horne
Emily Nelson
Joanna Rowsell Shand
Laura Trott

Men’s endurance

Steven Burke
Mark Cavendish
Ed Clancy
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Chris Latham
Andy Tennant
Sir Bradley Wiggins